Vocational Procurement Qualifications

Vocational Procurement Qualifications

A new suite of Vocational Procurement qualifications from Levels 3 to 6 are now available which replace the “old” NVQs in Supply Chain Management (SCM). These new qualifications have been developed in consultation with various stakeholders including the relevant Sector Skills Council (Skills for Logistics) and Awarding Organisations, ABC Awards and Gateway Qualifications:

Level 3 Certificate in Procurement and Supply
QAN 601/3217/6
PDF Download
Level 3 Diploma in Procurement and Supply
QAN 601/3218/8
PDF Download
Level 4 Diploma in Procurement
QAN 601/3928/6
PDF Download
Level 5 Diploma in Procurement
QAN 601/3929/8
PDF Download
Level 6 Diploma in Procurement
QAN 601/4110/4
PDF Download

Who are these qualifications suitable for?

These new work-based qualifications are suitable for procurement/supply chain practitioners who wish to prove their competency and demonstrate the application of knowledge and understanding in the workplace instead of perhaps taking knowledge based exams only. These qualifications have the support of major UK employers both in the Public and Private Sector and provide a significant amount of knowledge, understanding and skills development that underpins occupational competence in the Procurement and Supply Chain Sector.

What about Professional Accreditation?

Levels (NQF) 4 or 5 of the former Supply Chain Management SVQs/NVQs, together with appropriate experience, used to be accepted for full membership of the Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply (MCIPS). Levels (NQF) 4 or 5 of the former Supply Chain Management SVQs/NVQs, together with appropriate experience, used to be accepted for full membership of CIPS. There has been a “competency route” to MCIPS available until now for over 15 years.  It is disappointing, therefore, that following a so called “mapping” exercise to compare their academic qualifications with the Vocational Procurement Diplomas, CIPS have decided NOT to accept these NVQ replacements for full membership.

CIPS Exemption Scheme:

Learners are able to reduce the number of CIPS exams to achieve MCIPS through an “exemption” scheme which provides for a combination of Procurement Diplomas (plus additional units)  and CIPS qualifications – click HERE for details.

Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT)

CILT will accept specific levels of Procurement Diplomas for certain grades of membership:

Membership (MILT)

Procurement Diploma Level 3 plus 3 years relevant experience

Procurement Diploma Level 4 plus 2 years relevant experience

Procurement Diploma Level 5 plus 1 years relevant experience

Chartered Membership (CMILT)

Procurement Diploma Levels 5 and 6 plus 5 years experience

See http://www.ciltuk.org.uk/Home.aspx for further information

International Institute for Advanced Purchasing & Supply (IIAPS)

Attainment of the Level 5 or 6 Diploma in Procurement will satisfy the entry requirements for IIAPS which  provide further CPD opportunities – see  http://www.iiaps.org for further information.

Which level is suitable for me?

There are no specific entry requirements for these qualifications, but learners should be in a suitable job role to enable them to prove their competency at the appropriate level.
As a guide, the following levels and job roles will apply:

Level 3 – These qualifications are suitable for trainee buyers just starting their career in a procurement and supply environment, or for a purchasing/procurement assistant. They would also suit learners with delegated procurement responsibilities who work outside of a formal procurement and supply environment.

Level 4 & 5* – These qualifications may be suitable for learners in the following job roles:
• Buyer
• Procurement/Purchasing Executive
• Procurement Specialist
• Contract Officer
• Supply Chain/Inventory/Logistics Analyst
• Supply Chain/Inventory/Logistics Planner
• Assistant Category Manager
• Category Specialist
• Contracts Engineer
• Procurement Officer
• Supplier Relationship Specialist

N.B. * More experienced learners should be able to commence at the higher level.

Level 6 – These qualifications may be suitable for learners in the following job roles:
• Strategic /Senior /Purchasing or Procurement Manager
• Head of Commercial Services
• Supply Chain Manager
• Head of Logistics/Transport
• Operations Manager
• Senior Procurement Advisor
• Head of Procurement/Purchasing
• Senior Procurement Specialist
• Senior Buyer/Category Manager

For a summary of the mandatory and optional units download the relevant PDF document above.

Qube’s dedicated procurement portal: All our students have access to the latest web based tools and applications featuring Qube-profiler, elearn2buy, Qube-toolbox and Qube-portfolio.

Request our Brochure

Qube Procurement BrochurePlease complete our registration form below to express your interest in our Procurement/Supply Chain Programme and we will email further information. If you have any problems, please contact us by phone: 07736 284019, or email us: enquiries@qube.uk.com

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Linkedin